Under the leadership of the rector, the senate consists of vice-rectors, deans and a faculty member from each faculty to be elected by the faculty boards for three years, the directors of the institute and schools affiliated to the rectorate.
The Senate meets at least twice a year, at the beginning and end of each academic year. The Rector calls the Senate for a meeting when deemed necessary. The Senate is the academic body of the university and carries out the following duties:

Making decisions on the principles of the university’s education, scientific research and publication activities,

Preparing draft laws and regulations concerning the entire university or delivering an opinion,

Preparing the regulations concerning the university or the units of the university, which will come into force after the approval of the Rector,

Examining and deciding on the annual education program and calendar of the university, which will be published on Official Gazette,

Giving honorary academic titles that do not depend on an examination and deciding on the proposals of the faculty boards on this issue,

Examining and deciding on objections to the decisions of faculty boards, institute and school boards affiliated to the rectorate,

Electing members for the University Executive Board,

Performing other duties assigned by the Higher Education Law.

  • Prof. Dr. İsmail Koyuncu

  • Prof. Dr. Mustafa Kumral
  • Prof. Dr. Şule Itır Satoğlu
  • Prof. Dr. Lütfiye Durak Ata
  • Prof. Dr. Ali Deniz
Deputy Secretary-General
  • Hatice Ekem Akçan
Faculty of Computer and Informatics
  • Prof. Dr. Sema Fatma Oktuğ
  • Prof. Dr. Şule Gündüz Öğüdücü
Maritime Faculty
  • Prof. Dr. Özcan Arslan
Faculty of Electrical-Electronics Engineering
  • Prof. Dr. İbrahim Akduman
  • Prof. Dr. İ. Serdar Oğuz
Faculty of Science and Letters
  • Prof. Dr. Esra Alveroğlu Durucu
  • Prof. Dr. Zehra BAYIR
Faculty of Naval Architecture and Marine Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Emin Korkut
  • Prof. Dr. Ömer Gören
Faculty of Civil Engineering
  • Prof. Dr. Ünal Aldemir
  • Prof. Dr. Engin Orakdöğen
Faculty of Management
  • Prof. Dr. Emre Çevikcan
  • Prof. Dr. Fethi ÇALIŞIR
Faculty of Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering
  • Prof. Dr. Sebahattin Gürmen
  • Prof.Dr. Ayşegül Meriçboyu
Faculty of Mines
  • Prof. Dr. Mustafa Kumral (V)
  • Prof. Dr. Recep Fahri Esenli
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
  • Prof. Dr. Ekrem Tüfekci
  • Prof. Dr. Nurdil Eskin
Faculty of Architecture
  • Prof. Dr. Mehmet Murat Gül
  • Prof.Dr.Yegan Kahya Sayar
Faculty of Textile Technologies and Design
  • Prof. Dr. Ömer Berk Berkalp
  • Prof. Dr. Emel Önder Karaoğlu
Faculty of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Prof. Dr. Zahit Mecitoğlu
  • Prof.Dr. Okşan Çetiner Yıldırım
Eurasia Institute of Earth Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Ali Deniz
Informatics Institute
  • Prof. Dr. Ertuğrul Karaçuha
Disaster Management Institute
  • Prof. Dr. Ercan Yüksel
Energy Institute
  • Prof. Dr. İlhan Kocaaslan
Graduate School
  • Prof. Dr. Ahmet Duran Şahin
Aviation Institute
  • Prof. Dr. İbrahim Özkol
Turkish Music State Conservatory
  • Prof. Dr. Ali Tüfekçi
İTÜ TRNC, President of Executive Board
  • Prof. Dr. Cumali Kınacı
School of Foreign Languages
  • Lecturer Dr. Nilüfer ÜLKER
Dean of Student Affairs
  • Doç. Dr. Mahmut Altınbaş


Research Assistant Representative
  • Res. Asst. Berker Pandır